

IPM NEWS



Philippe Meyer Institute for Theoretical Physics

Ecole Normale Supérieure

Philippe Meyer Prize 2018

The 2018 edition of the biannual Philippe Meyer Prize will acknowledge exceptional contributions by a young theoretical physicist under the age of 35 in the field of "Quantum Field Theory, Strings and Gravity".

Nominations should be sent before June 30, 2018 to: ph-meyer.prize@ens.fr

New postdocs

Eric DeGiuli

joined the Institute in September 2017. He holds a PhD from the university of British Columbia and did postdocs at NYU and EPFL. He works on the physics of disordered systems and the glass transition.



Some background

The Philippe Meyer Institute for theoretical physics was established in 2012 as a part of the Physics Department of the Ecole Normale Supérieure. It aims to promote theoretical physics at the ENS at the highest level to honour the memory of Philippe Meyer (1925-2007). Philippe Meyer was both a professor at the Ecole Normale Supérieure and the founder of its theoretical physics lab. The Institute is funded by the ENS - Philippe Meyer Partnership Foundation.

The ENS - Philippe Meyer Partnership Foundation

The Partnership Foundation was created in 2011, initially for a period of 5 years and has now been renewed for another 5 years until 2021. It is predominantly financed by the Meyer Foundation, while the ENS grants office space and administrative support. A board of directors, among which members of the Physics Department, representatives of the ENS and the Meyer Foundation, as well as external experts in the field, govern the Partnership Foundation. The current president is Jean Iliopoulos.

Apratim Kaviraj

joined the Institute in October 2017. He holds a PhD from the Indian Institute of Science. He works in theoretical high energy physics and uses bootstrap methods applied to statistical physics.

Elisabeth Agoritsas

joined the Institute in April 2018. She holds a PhD from the university of Geneva and had done a first postdoc in Grenoble. She works on the statistical physics of disordered systems.

Visitors since September 2017

Eric Bergshoeff

visited the Institute in October and November 2017. He is a professor in theoretical physics at the University of Groningen, Netherlands. He is an expert in supergravity and superstring theory.

Semyon Klevtsov

visited in September 2017. He is a junior professor in the mathematics department of the University of Cologne, and is working on quantum gravity and its applications to the quantum Hall effect.

Scientific Advisory Board

The scientific advisory board is consulted on matters of scientific policy and the hiring of Postdoctoral researchers. It is comprised of:

- Curtis Callan (president), Princeton University and ENS,
- Thierry Giamarchi, Geneva University,
- Gerard 't Hooft, Utrecht University,
- Giorgio Parisi, Rome 1 University,
- Gabriele Veneziano, CERN and Collège de France.

The Philippe Meyer Institute for Theoretical Physics (IPM)

The Institute is part of the Physics Department at ENS. Its main activities are :

- An internationally competitive postdoc program with 4 to 5 postdocs present at any given time,
- Invitations of eminent personalities of the scientific community at the ENS for short term visits,
- The organisation of the bi-annual Philippe Meyer Prize honouring the exceptional contributions of a young theoretical physicist,
- Coordination of scientific workshops and conferences at the ENS.

To a lesser extent, it also participates in the training of young researchers from the ENS.

The Institute website is www.ipm.ens.fr

People

The Philippe Meyer Institute does not employ any permanent faculty or staff. Its current director is Adel Bilal and administrative and computer support is provided by Sandrine Patachini, Viviane Sebille and Marc-Thierry Jaekel.

Postdocs

The Postdoctoral program is the most important aspect of the Institute. The ENS - Philippe Meyer Partnership Foundation annually funds two new postdoctoral positions, one in the field of fundamental interactions and the other in

Antti Kupiainen

visited the Institute in September 2017. He is professor in mathematical physics at the University of Helsinki. He is working on mathematical formulations of quantum gravity.

Theodore Tomaras

visited the Institute in September-October 2017. He is professor at the University of Crete. He is working on various aspects of theoretical particle physics, as well as in cosmology.

Yan Fyodorov

visited the Institute in April 2018. He is professor at King's College, London. He is working on the theory of random matrices.

Balt van Rees

visited the Institute in April 2018. He is assistant professor in Durham, UK. His research is on bootstrap methods in quantum field theory and quantum gravity.

Dick Bond

will visit the Institute this spring. He is a professor at the University of Toronto and the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics. He is an expert in cosmology and theoretical astrophysics.

the field of statistical physics. Former and current postdocs are :

Antonio Amariti (2012-2015)

theoretical high energy physics, now a permanent researcher at INFN, Milano, Italy

Andrea De Luca (2012-2014)

theoretical condensed matter, now at Oxford University; has just obtained a permanent CNRS position

Domenico Orlando (2013-2015)

theoretical high energy physics, now a permanent researcher at INFN Torino, Italy

Dario Villamaina (2013-2016)

statistical physics, now a permanent research associate at Capital Fund Management, Paris

Matti Jarvinen (2014-2017)

theoretical high energy physics, now a research associate at Utrecht University

Charles Fisher (2014-2015)

statistical physics and theoretical ecology, now a machine learning engineer at Leap Motion, San Francisco, USA

Denis Bashkirov (2015-2018)

theoretical high energy physics

Tridip Sadhu (2015-2017)

statistical physics, now a tenured assistant professor at Tata Institute, Mumbai, India

Tin Sulejmanpasik (2016-present)

theoretical high energy physics

Takahiro Nemoto (2016-present)

statistical physics

Apratim Kaviraj (2017 -present)

theoretical high energy physics

Eric DeGiuli (2017-present)

statistical physics

Elisabeth Agoritsas (2018-present)

statistical physics

Long-term visitors (a month or more)

Patrick Charbonneau (Duke University)

Massimo Bianchi (Rome University)

Theodore Tomaras (Crete University)

Paul Wiegmann (Chicago University)

Chris Quigg (Fermilab)

Emmanouil Floratos (Athens University)

Yuliang Jin (Osaka University)

Armen Allahverdyan (Yerevan Physics Institute)

Lance Dixon (SLAC, Stanford)

Markus Müller (Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland)

Eric Bergshoeff (University of Groningen)

Balt van Rees (Durham University)

The Philippe Meyer Prize

The prize is awarded every two years to a young theoretical physicist under the age of 35 for exceptional contributions to a specific sub-field. Candidates must be nominated.

• The 2014 prize (the theory of elementary particles): Zohar Komargodski (Weizmann)

Jury: Sheldon Glashow, Luis Alvarez-Gaumé, Alvaro de Rujula

• The 2016 prize (statistical physics of disordered systems):

Lenka Zdeborova (CEA-Saclay)

Jury: John Cardy, William Bialek, Kurt Binder