Research contracts

research contracts

Over the past few years, the Ecole normale supérieure has significantly developed its actions for enhancing linking between its laboratories and the economic and social world. Moreover, the ENS has strengthened its strategy for exploiting the results obtained by its research teams.

These actions have led to a continuous increase of the number of contracts obtained by researchers or research teams of the ENS, within the framework of the Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR, ie. French national research agency) of the European Research Council (created in 2007, as part of the European framework programme for research and innovation (Horizon 2020), and of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF).

The European Research (ERC)

Scientific excellence is the unique selection criterion of the ERC. Excellence is appreciated by international boards of examiners, gathered within 25 thematic panels. French researchers have a 15% success rate for the ERC projects (13,4% at the European level).

PSL Research University counts up a total of 201 ERC. PSL is ranked just after Paris Saclay (with 245 ERC) according to the Strater ranking of the ComUE (public scientific, cultural or professional institutions), which draws up the list of the ERC grants, members of the IUF (Institut Universitaire de France) and holders of a CNRS Prise.

Research vitality at the ENS is thus proven by the numerous ERC research contracts obtained in recent years by ENS researchers.

3 kinds of funding:

  • Starting Grant for young researchers – 2 to 7 years after thesis completion
  • Consolidator Grant for researchers – 7 to 12 years after thesis completion
  • Advanced Grant for senior researchers

ERC Consolidator Grant 2017

  • Lydéric Bocquet - chercheur CNRS au Laboratoire de physique statistique de l’ENS (CNRS/ENS Paris/Sorbonne Université/Université Paris Diderot). projet SHADOK - Active nanofluidics towards ionic machines
  • Michel Brune -  chercheur CNRS au Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (CNRS/Collège de France/ENS Paris/Sorbonne Université) : projet TRENSCRYBE- TRapped ENSemble of Circular RYdBErg atoms for quantum simulation
  • Philippe Schlenker - chercheur CNRS à l'Institut Jean-Nicod (CNRS/EHESS/ENS Paris) : projet ORISEM- Sources of Meaning: Grounding Formal Semantics
  • Shibab Shamma - Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs -Département d'Etudes Cognitives ENS Paris : projet NEUME : Neuroplasticity and the Musical Experience

ERC Consolidator Grant 2016 


ERC Advanced Grant 2015

  • Pierre Paoletti,  manager of the team Récepteurs du glutamate et synapses excitatrices (Glutamate receptors and excitatory synapses) – Departement of biology
  • Alexandre Schubnel , CNRS Bronze Medal 2014, researcher in geophysics – ENS Laboratory of geology, for his project Reproducing Earthquakes in the Laboratory: Imaging, Speed and Mineralogy. Find his conference on his subject on Savoirs-ENS


ERC Consolidator Grant 2014

Sid Kouider, LSCP Laboratory (Laboratoire de sciences cognitives et psycholinguistique) - Departement of cognitive sciences


ERC Starting Grant 2014

Alessandro Siria -  LPS Laboratory (Laboratoire de physique statistique) – Department of physics


ERC Consolidator Grant 2013

  • Hélène Morlon, manager of team Modélisation de la Biodiversité (Biodiversity modelling)- Department of biology
  • Sonia Garel, manager of the team Développement et plasticité du cerveau (Brain development and plasticity) - Department of biology.


ERC Starting Grant 2013

David Pointcheval - Department of computer science


ERC Starting Grant 2012

  • Takis Kontos –Laboratoire Pierre Aigrain (LPA) – Department of physic 
  • Aleksandra Maria Walczak - LPTENS Laboratory (Laboratoire de physique théorique) - Department of physics


ERC Starting Grant 2011

Lionel Navarro – IBENS Institute (Institut de biologie de l'Ecole normale supérieure)


ERC Starting Grant 2010

Alexandre d'Aspremont - Department of computer science


ERC Starting Grant 2010

  • Lydéric Bocquet - Laboratoire de physique statistique - Département de physique
  • Habib Ammari  - Département de mathématiques et applications
  • Vincent Croquette – LPS Laboratory (Laboratoire de physique statistique) - Department of physics


ERC Advanced Grant 2009

Sébastien Balibar - LPS Laboratory (Laboratoire de physique statistique) - Department of physics


ERC Advanced Grant 2008

  • François Recanati – Institut Jean Nicod – Department of cognitive sciences
  • Christophe Salomon - Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (LKB)- Department of physics


Here are some examples of ENS researchers who have been elected a member of the IUF (Institut Universitaire de France) over the past few years:

IUF junior member 2016

Julien Zurbach, lecturer in Grecian history, ENS Department of history, and researcher of the UMR 8546 AOROC. 


IUF junior member 2015

Laure Saint-Raymond, mathematician, professor at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie and at the ENS Department of mathematics and applications.


IUF junior member 2012

Hélène Dessales, lecturer, manager of the team Bâtir et décorer dans l'Antiquité (Building and decorating during the Antiquity), Department of classics (Département des sciences de l’Antiquité.).


IUF junior member 2009

  • Damien Baigl, professor at the UPMC and manager of the team in the “Microfluidic” pole in the UMR P.A.S.T.E.U.R. (CNRS/ENS/UPMC), ENS Department of chemistry.
  • Romain Brette, lecturer, Laboratory of perception psychology (Laboratoire psychologie de la perception), ENS Département of cognitive sciences.
  • Jérôme Sackur, Deputy director of the LSCP Laboratory (Laboratoire de sciences cognitives et psycholinguistique), ENS Département of cognitive sciences.


IUF junior member 2007

Jean-François Allemand, professor, ENS LPS Laboratory (Laboratoire de physique statistique).

Mis à jour le 11/4/2018